Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Audio, TV, Film, and BOOKS!!!

From Publishers Lunch Weekly:


UK TV producer Jane Fallon's GETTING RID OF MATTHEW, about a long-suffering mistress who finally decides it's time to dump her married lover and get on with her life; pitched for fans of Lizy Buchan, Jane Green, and Jennifer Weiner, to Ellen Archer and Pamela Dorman at Voice, by Jonny Geller at Curtis Brown UK (US).

24-year-old Ivo Stourton's debut novel THE NIGHT CLIMBERS, in which an exclusive group of thrill-seeking students at fictional Tudor College in Cambridge, England lose their source of income and commit art fraud in order to regain their foothold, to Terra Chalberg at Simon Spotlight Entertainment, for publication in fall 2007, by Helen Edwards at Transworld (NA).


James O. Born's untitled Alex Duarte novel, the sequel to FIELD OF FIRE, to Neil Nyren and Brendan Duffy at Putnam, by Meg Ruley at Jane Rotrosen Agency (NA).


Patrick Ryan's untitled novel about how a father's criminal activities send his family on the lam and they assume a new life of scrappy survival and tent revivals, leading them to the business of faith-healing, scam or not, in the form of a fifteen-year-old mute, to Susan Kamil at Dial Press, by Lisa Bankoff at ICM (NA).


Director of the Immigration and National Security Program at The Nixon Center and a senior fellow at the Brookings Institution Robert S. Leiken's EUROPE'S ANGRY MUSLIMS: The Fire Next Time, which grows out of his Foreign Affairs article and provides an historical account of how Islam came to 20th century Europe, and how it is rearranging the continent's cultural, political and security landscape, to David McBride at Oxford University Press, by Andrew Stuart at The Stuart Agency (NA).

WSJ reporters Roger Thurow and Scott Kilman's TO FEED THE HUNGRY: Who Starves, Why, and How We Can Stop It, in which the authors journey around the world to expose the economic, social, and political dynamics in both the developed and developing worlds that encourage famine to continue, to Lisa Kaufman at Public Affairs, for publication in spring 2008, by Wall Street Journal Books (world).


Emmy-award winning comedienne Judy Gold (with Kate Ryan)'s 25 QUESTIONS FOR A JEWISH MOTHER, incorporating Gold's own stories of growing up Jewish, as well as the voice of the 50 Jewish mothers interviewed in the course of writing the book, to Ellen Archer and Pamela Dorman at Voice, by Laurie Liss at Sterling Lord Literistic (NA).


Lee Woodruff's memoir, written with husband and ABC News anchor Bob Woodruff and told from their dual perspectives, about their experience after his convoy was attacked in Iraq, leaving him with a traumatic brain injury and causing him to step down from his newly appointed job as co-anchor of the evening news, to Susan Mercandetti at Random House, by Robert Barnett at Williams & Connolly (world).

A portion of the authors' proceeds will be donated to organizations that help support members of the armed forces recovering from traumatic brain injuries. In Spring 2007, Woodruff will return to the air to tell his in a one-hour primetime special.

The only female member of the iconic folk group The Weavers Ronnie Gilbert's RONNIE GILBERT: A Radical Life with Songs, touching on the early years with Pete Seeger, the commercial successes of "Goodnight Irene" and "Wemoweh," the censorship that destroyed their careers, and the subsequent renewal of the group, to Mary Francis at the University of California Press, by Ellen Geiger at the Frances Goldin Literary Agency (World).

Former head of Paramount Pictures Sherry Lansing's memoir, to Harmony, by Lynn Nesbit at Janklow & Nesbit.

Former Page Six freelancer accused of attempted extortion from billionaire Ron Burkle, Jared Paul Stern's STERN MEASURES, on "the glamorous heights and seamy underbelly of the gossip industry and the New York tabloid wars," to Mark Gompertz at Touchstone Fireside, for publication in fall 2007, by John Brockman at Brockman (NA).


Masha Gessen's BLOOD MATTERS: Travels Along the Genetic Frontier, a personal look through family history and the latest medical science at the complex ethical choices brought on by advancements in genetic testing, to Matt Weiland at Granta, by Patrick Walsh at Conville & Walsh, on behalf of Elyse Cheney.

Caine Prize-winning author Helon Habila's LAGOS, a portrait of one of the fastest-growing yet little-known cities in the world, to Matt Weiland at Granta, by David Godwin at David Godwin Associates.

Johns Hopkins neuroscientist Paul Fitzgerald's ADJUST YOUR BRAIN, which proposes a cocktail of FDA drugs resetting major brain chemicals can treat nearly every type of mental illness, to John Hunt of O Books, by Sally van Haitsma of The Castiglia Agency (World).


Mark Obmascik's THE BIG YEAR: A Tale of Man, Nature and Fowl Obsession, optioned again to DreamWorks, in a major deal, by Howie Sanders of UTA, on behalf of Jody Rein at Jody Rein Books.

Jason F. Wright's CHRISTMAS JARS, about a young female reporter whose life is changed forever while investigating the unique Christmas tradition of the Christmas Jar, to Academy Award winner Keith Merrill, who will direct and Barry McLerran will executive produce, in a good deal, by Laurie Liss at Sterling Lord


Neal Bascomb's RED MUTINY: Eleven Fateful Days on the Battleship Potemkin, again to Brian Sweany of Recorded Books, by Farley Chase of the Waxman Literary Agency.

Canadian rights to Sherry Cooper's TIMELESS: The Economic Implications of Retiring in an Aging Society, to Andrea Crozier at Penguin Canada.


No comments: