Wednesday, August 09, 2006

On the way: Television and Books....

From Publishers Lunch Weekly:


Nikita Lalwani's first novel THE SQUARE ROOT, about a young British Indian adolescent math prodigy whose parents are grooming her to attend Oxford University at age fourteen, to Jennifer Hershey at Random House, at auction, in a two-book deal, by Jin Auh at The Wylie Agency (US).
Rights have already been sold at auction to Viking UK, Doubleday Canada and Penguin India.

Sarah Addison Allen's debut novel GARDEN SPELLS AND SOUTHERN BELLES and another book, pitched as "in the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Alice Hoffman," to Nita Taublib and Shauna Summers at Bantam Dell, by Andrea Cirillo and Kelly Harms of the Jane Rotrosen Agency (NA).
UK rights to Carolyn Mays at Hodder & Stoughton, in a pre-empt, by Peggy Gordijn of the Jane Rotrosen Agency.


Edgar-nominated author of HOMICIDE MY OWN, Anne Argula's WALLA WALLA SUITE and another book, both featuring Quinn -- a female PI of a certain age whose hard-boiled investigations are tempered by an unorthodox and melancholic wisdom, to Fleetwood Robbins at Ballantine, by Vicky Bijur of the Vicky Bijur Literary Agency.


Debra Ginsberg's THE GRIFT, about a woman who, after faking her psychic abilities for years to great profit, is suddenly bestowed with the real gift of prophecy and must use it to divine which one of her vengeful clients has murdered her lover, to Sally Kim at Shaye Areheart Books, in a very nice deal, by Linda Loewenthal at the David Black Literary Agency (World).
Stephen Gallagher's THE KINGDOM OF BONES, an historical novel set in nineteenth century America and England, to Shaye Areheart at Shaye Areheart Books, in a nice deal, by Howard Morhaim at Howard Morhaim Literary Agency (NA).

Boston Globe columnist and author of GRACEFULLY INSANE, Alex Beam's A GREAT IDEA AT THE TIME, chronicling University of Chicago gurus Mortimer Adler, Robert Hutchins and Robert Benton, in a light-hearted but literate style that gets at the comedy of those who compiled the canon of the Great Books of western literature. to Lisa Kaufman at Public Affairs, in a very nice deal, by Michael Carlisle of Inkwell Management (world English).


Anne Ursu's THE SHADOW THIEVES, the first book of the trilogy THE CRONOS CHRONICLES, about the adventures of two pre-teen cousins who find themselves in the midst of a supernatural civil war, to Once Upon a Time Films, producing for the Disney Channel, by Josie Freedman, on behalf of Tina Wexler at ICM. Evan Spiliotopoulos will adapt.


Youngest partner in the history of Kissinger Associates and former TIME editor Josh Cooper Ramo's HAYEK'S GARDEN, a rethinking of globalization and politics, drawing upon complexity and network theory, cutting-edge economics, and politics to reveal why our leaders keep getting the world wrong -- and the hidden logic that explains everything from Hezbollah to Hong Kong, to Geoff Shandler at Little, Brown, by Amanda Urban at ICM (world).
Rights have been sold so far to Little, Brown UK; to Gerhard Riemann Verlag in Germany, in a pre-empt; and to Contact in

THE MEDICI GIRAFFE: And Other Tales of Exotic Animals and Power author Marina Belozerskaya's TO WAKE THE DEAD: How Cyriacus of Ancona Invented Classical Archaeology and Helped Usher in the Renaissance, about the historical moment when antiquity was just becoming a cultural force, by tracing the life of the merchant/diplomat/spy who was first to see that ancient ruins could be seen as a gateway into the past -- that the stones could be 'read,' to Alane Mason at Norton, in a very nice deal, by Rob McQuilkin at Lippincott Massie McQuilkin (World)


From the blogger of WAITER RANT, an insider's look at a waiter's life at an upscale New York area restaurant -- dubbed Kitchen Confidential at the front of the house, to Emily Takoudes at Ecco, in a pre-empt, by Farley Chase at the Waxman Literary Agency (NA).


James Scurlock's MAXED OUT, what "Fast Food Nation was to the food industry," but for the debt industry, to Carole Tonkinson at Harper, by Claire Roberts at Trident Media Group.


No comments: