Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Terrific list of Thrillers in these Books...

From Publishers Lunch Weekly:


James Fuerst's HUGE, debut literary fiction pitched as in the vein of THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME and THE SLEEPING FATHER, told by an angry, precocious adolescent and devotee of Philip Marlowe, as he confronts a dangerous mystery - and the challenges of family, his own emotions, and junior high, to Julian Pavia at Crown,in a pre-empt, for publication in Summer 2009, by Markus Hoffmann at Regal Literary (world).UK/translation:

John Pipkin's WOODSBURNER, chronicling the lives of a lovesick Norwegian immigrant farm hand, a struggling bookseller, a fire and brimstone preacher, and a pencil maker named Henry David Thoreau as their stories intersect over a fire Thoreau accidentally set which burned 800 acres near Walden Pond, moved with Janet Silver to Nan A. Talese, in a pre-empt, by Marly Rusoff at Marly Rusoff & Associates (NA).

Iowa Writers' Workshop graduate Matthew Vollmer's FUTURE MISSIONARIES OF AMERICA, a collection about American loneliness and hope, including stories previously published in The Paris Review, Tin House, and elsewhere, to Khristina Wenzinger at MacAdam/Cage (world).


Younger brother of Lee Child, Andrew Grant's debut EVEN, introducing David Trevallyan, described as Jack Reacher's younger brother if Reacher had a brother who'd joined the British Navy, and taken James Bond's career path, to Peter Wolverton at Thomas Dunne Books, in a pre-empt, for publication in June 2009, by Janet Reid at FinePrint Literary Management (world).

John le Carre's A MOST WANTED MAN, set in Germany, a contemporary story delivering readers deep inside the intelligence agencies operating in the "war on terror," returning to Nan Graham at Scribner (with Pocket publishing the paperback), for publication in October 2008, by attorney Michael Rudell (US).

Rory Clements' MARTYR, a first historical thriller pitched as in the vein of CJ Sansom, about John Shakespeare, chief intelligencer to Queen Elizabeth, ordered to protect England's "sea dragon" Francis Drake from an assassination plot, to Kate Miciak at Bantam Dell, by Patty Moosbrugger at Patricia Moosbrugger Literary Agency (NA).

Jeremy Robinson's ROUSE, the first in the Chess Team series, pitched as combining the adventure of James Rollins with the frantic pacing of Matthew Reilly, in which a team of Delta Force operatives battle a terrorist-friendly biopharmaceutical company, to Peter Wolverton at Thomas Dunne Books, in a three-book deal, by Scott Miller at Trident Media Group (world English).


JRR Tolkien's grandson Simon Tolkien's THE INHERITANCE, in which an aging police inspector decides to travel from England to France to delve into a possible World War II theft and crime hoping to save an upper-class student set to hang for murdering his father, an Oxford historian with a questionable military record, to Peter Wolverton and Thomas Dunne at Thomas Dunne Books, in a two-book deal, by Marly Rusoff of Marly Rusoff & Associates (NA).

John Drake's FLINT & SILVER, the first in a series of pirate adventure novels, prequels to the classic, Treasure Island, to Colin Fox at Simon & Schuster, in a pre-empt, by Joe Veltre at Artists Literary Group, on behalf of Antony Topping at Greene & Heaton (US).Translation: rights to Julia Wisdom at Harper UK, in a significant deal," in a pre-empt, for three books.

Two untitled anthologies from The New Yorker, a book of war reportage edited by David Remnick, and a collection of humor writing edited by David Remnick and Henry Finder, to Julia Cheiffetz at Random House (world English).Rights:

Director of La Scala in Italy Daniel Barenboim's MUSIC QUICKENS TIME, on the transformative power of music, to Tom Penn at Verso, in a nice deal, for publication in November 2008, by Erica Berla at Berla & Griffini Rights Agency (NA).


Glenn Cooper's debut thriller, LIBRARY OF THE DEAD, about an FBI agent's struggle to crack an unsolvable serial killing which leads him to the discovery of the real secret of the US government's top-secret Area 51 military installation, to Kate Elton at Arrow, for two books, by Caspian Dennis of the Abner Stein, on behalf of Steve Kasdin of the Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency.Sold here and in multiple territories (see additional report) in advance of a US sale.


Author of Beat the Dealer and Beat the Market, Dr. Edward O. Thorp's A MAN FOR ALL MARKETS: My Adventures from Las Vegas to Wall Street, recounting his adventures and achievements over three decades, from inventing the first system for card counting in 1959, to co-inventing a wearable computer that beat the roulette wheel, to devising mathematical trading formulae that revolutionized Wall Street, also including the practical and financial insights of a gambling and investing legend, to Will Murphy at Random House, by David Halpern at The Robbins Office (NA).


Charles Hirschberg's NEVER LOST A BATTLE YET, presenting an untold aspect of Civil War history along the story of the extraordinary friendship between Robert Certain, a former slave of the 1st South Carolina Volunteers, African Descent - the first official African-American regiment in US Army history - and its commander, Colonel Thomas Wentworth Higginson, a blue-blooded New Englander and man of letters whose friends included Emerson, Thoreau, Lowell and Emily Dickinson, to Charlie Conrad at Doubleday, by Lisa Queen and Eleanor Jackson at Queen Literary Agency (World).


Longtime television host Bob Barker's autobiography, written with Digby Diehl, sharing stories and anecdotes from his personal and public life, including his childhood, marriage, early career and experiences on Truth or Consequences and The Price is Right, to Christina Boys at Center Street, for publication in summer of 2009, by Mel Berger at the William Morris Agency.

[NOTE: Digby is one good writer!]


Author of bestselling THE BLACK SWAN, Nassim Nicholas Taleb's TINKERING, a roadmap on how to live and make decisions in a world we do not understand, showing how we are better at doing than we are at knowing, how discoveries are mostly made by trial and error, how universities are better at public relations than they are at producing knowledge, and how to take advantage of these facts -- drawing from sources as diverse as Menodotus of Nichomedia and the mathematics of genome sequencing, with characters ranging from Aristotle to Fat Tony (a successful streetwise fellow from Brooklyn), again to Will Murphy at Random House, by John Brockman at Brockman.


No comments: